Who can apply?Back home

If you live in the Devon County Council area (it must be your sole or principal residence) you can apply for a National Bus Pass.

There are two types of pass: those issued to older residents and those issued to applicants with certain disabilities.

Older applicants
The date of eligibility for the National Bus Pass – for both men and women – is linked to the age at which a woman becomes eligible for a state pension. Please refer to the table on this link to check the date at which you will become eligible for your bus pass.

Disabled applicants

You may be eligible for a National Bus Pass if you have a disability that is considered permanent, or is likely to last at least 12 months. The disability should have a substantial effect on your ability to carry out normal day-to-day activities.

There are seven disability categories:

  • Blind or partially sighted
  • Profoundly or severely deaf
  • Without speech
  • Severe difficulty in walking
  • Without arms or has a long-term loss of the use of both arms
  • Learning Disability
  • Unfit to hold a driving licence

Find out how to apply.